Feel “Goot” Friday!!!

Happiness = Chocolate!!

I know, you all thought I was going to discuss “working out” for Feel “Goot” Friday . . . BUT YOU’RE WRONG!   Feel “Goot” Friday is going to be all about Chocolate!  That delicious, smooth textured, melt-in-your-mouth,  euphoria producing gift from the Aztec, Olmec and Maya Civilizations!  And one of the wonderful “comfort” foods that we were told to” give up” if we wanted to lose weight, get healthy, clear up acne and regain good health.  Well . . . medical experts are now claiming that chocolate is quite healthy and beneficial for you.  Here’s are 9 reasons from Women’s Health magazine why chocolate is beneficial for you:

  1. A healthier heart
  2. Weight Loss
  3. Happier Kids
  4. Diabetes Prevention
  5. Reduce Stress
  6. Sun Protection
  7. Higher Intelligence (I must be a genius!!)!
  8. Cough Relief
  9. Diarrhea Relief

The Huffington Post claims that chocolate improves eye vision,  improves blood flow, boosts your mood, decreases stroke risks and fills you up (I guess they’ve never met me!)!  Even staring at a photo of chocolate, I start to drool!

So what’s a person to do when they don’t eat processed sugar and processed fillers?  They resort to making chocolate themselves or they find the experts who do!  I will be sharing recipes with you to try.

Let me start by saying, you can drink your Chocolate Mylk (this is not a typo — there’s no “milk” in my chocolate “mylk) and eat it too.  I make this Cocoa Banana Smoothie (which is almost like my “magic elixir” smoothie minus the greens).   I drink this anytime I want a chocolate milk or just a pick me up.  The raw cocoa in this provides the natural caffeine I need.

Cocoa Banana Smoothie

Chocolate Banana Smootie

Chocolate Banana Smootie

1 Banana

2 dates pitted (I use Medjool – they’re large.  Use what you like and adjust the number for sweetness.  Or use raw honey or agave.  I haven’t tried this with Stevia).

1/4 cup almonds (you can use almond butter if you’d like)

2 tbsp flax seeds

2 tbsp shredded coconut

2 tbsp raw cocoa powder

3 cups water (throw some ice in as well)

Put in high speed blender for a minute or so and enjoy!

_____________________________________________________________

Here’s a really simple recipe for Brownies.  These don’t last in my house at all.

RAW Chocolate Brownies

Raw Chocolate Brownies

Raw Chocolate Brownies

1 cup whole walnuts

1 cup medjool dates (pitted)

1/3 cup cocoa powder (I use Raw)

1/4 Maca Powder (if you have)

Pinch of salt

Put all the ingredients in you food processor and process until combined.  Don’t over-process or the walnuts get too “oily”.   Press into a glass 8X8 glass baking dish, cut into pieces and enjoy!  Five minutes and you’re done!!!  (feel free to double this recipe as well)!   *You can use this basic recipe to make “cake pops” or pie bottoms.

_____________________________________________________________

My facebook friend, Heather Pace of Sweetly Raw and Food and Yoga for Life is a fabulous Chef who creates the most AMAZING Raw Chocolate Recipes.  I’ve only made her Chocolate Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake, but have not tried any of her RAW Chocolate Recipes.  This is an actual photo of some of Heather’s Raw Chocolate Bars.  I have yet to try making these,  but it is my goal.  I don’t have any “chocolate molds” so I will be spreading the mixture on parchment paper, setting it that way and then breaking it into “Bark”.

Heather's Raw Chocolate Bars

Heather’s Raw Chocolate Bars

Also, Heather also created a magnificent “E-Book”.  You can go on her website Sweetly Raw to see how you can order this book.

Raw Chocolate Dream

Raw Chocolate Dream

_____________________________________________________________

And last, but not least, if you don’t feel like making your own creations and just want to buy it, you need to check out the chocolate from one of my favorite RAW Enthusiasts, David Wolfe (yes — the persona behind the NutriBullet Infomercial).  He and his colleague Steve Adler, created Sacred Chocolate – a raw chocolate sensation.  The cocoa is slowly stone ground below 115° Fahrenheit and is certified organic and vegan.

Sacred Chocolate is clearly the best chocolate bar ever.
Take one bite and you will know that Sacred Chocolate has cracked the cacao code!

— David Wolfe, author of Naked Chocolate.

So now we know that chocolate is beneficial to your health!  Feel free to eat it WITHOUT the last ingredient that’s always included in a good piece of chocolate — GUILT!!!  Whether you decide to make it yourself or purchase it, and in my case – it’s both, the most important thing is that you just . . . .

Enjoy!

Michele ♥

Leave a Reply

